How to get Certified

Build your future through certification

In Arkansas, there are three levels of Peer Recovery Support certification: 

  • Peer Recovery Specialist
  • Advanced Peer Recovery Specialist 
  • Peer Recovery Peer Supervisor. 

These levels enable Peer Specialists to advance in their profession.

The certification process will connect you with and enable you to support others while helping you reflect on your successes.

STEP 1: Apply

Your application cannot be reviewed until you’ve completed all information, signed the application, and provided all supporting documentation.

STEP 2: Attend Core training

  • Once accepted into the program, you will be a Peer in Training (PIT). You will complete the Core training, a 30-hour course. 
  • Then you can request to be paired with a Peer Recovery Peer Supervisor (PRPS) and begin peer supervision in Step 3. 

STEP 3:  Complete Peer-in-Training requirements

  • Complete an additional 16 education hours. 
  • Complete 500 experience hours (including 100 hours of domain-specific experience made up of 25 hours of advocacy experience, 25 hours of ethical responsibility experience, 25 hours of mentoring/ education experience, and 25 hours of recovery/wellness experience). 
  • Complete 25 hours of domain-specific peer supervision (individual/group).

STEP 4: Pass the Peer Recovery Specialist credentialing exam